Board of Directors

Our board of directors is responsible for making sure United Way is on the right track. They meet monthly to discuss strategic issues facing the organization.

The board holds United Way's senior staff responsible for carrying out our mission. They ensure that United Way is an organization you can trust. The board is composed of community leaders from throughout the Northern Shenandoah Valley.

2017 Officers:

 Darcus Breneman
 The Winchester Group
 2017 Board Chair
  Susan Brooks
  Navy Federal Credit Union
  1st Vice Chair
2nd Vice Chair
Karen Vacchio
County of Frederick Virginia
Secretary, Marketing

  Marshall J. Beverley, Jr., EVP
  First Bank
2017 Members: 
Nadine Pottinga, United Way of NSV
President, CEO

Scott C. Harvard 
First Bank


Kurt Beyreis 
Retired Exxon-Mobil

Chuck Bishop
Clarke County Schools

Richie Crim
Lord Fairfax Community College

Dr. Damon DeArment
Shenandoah Valley Orthodontics

Lori Eversole
City National Bank

Carolyn “Callie” Fitzwater 
Adams & Jones, PLC

Lori Fountain Bales
Your Healthy Side Corporate Wellness

Mike Gochenour
Northern Virginia Daily

Floyd Heater
Shen. Memorial Hospital

William Nordman
Historic Properties of VA, Inc.

Wilborn Roberson
BB&T Greater Washington Commercial Credit

Chris Rucker
Valley Health System

Jay Rudolph

Kevin Sanzenbacher
Winchester Police Department

Julie Spaid-Hockman
Thermo Fisher Scientific


Michelle Thomas
Shenandoah Valley Westminster Canterbury

Ted Troxell

Peter Warren
United Bank

Doug Zipp
Shenandoah University

Newsletter Sign Up