Todd Thompson Volunteer of the Year Award

The Todd Thompson Volunteer of the Year Award is presented annually to an outstanding local volunteer who’s individual commitment to helping others exemplifies the tradition and spirit of caring.  

The award recognizes:

  • Distinguished volunteer service to the community.
  • United Way participation and service.
  • Sustained and prolonged service to helping others.

Todd Thompson:

Found It ToddIn 2021, United Way NSV renamed the Volunteer of the Year award after the passing of long time volunteer and friend to the organization Todd Thompson. Todd served as a United Way volunteer for over 20 years, selflessly running the Rubbermaid sales with passion. In Todd's tenure overseeing the Rubbermaid sales, it's estimated he raised over $2 million dollars for community organizations. Todd not only served as a United Way volunteer but has countless accolades within the community as a true community helper and advocate. Todd's dedication to service is what we should all strive to achieve. 

“I could not think of a more deserving person than Todd to name our Volunteer of the Year award after. He has been a leader and advocate of our United Way for years, exceedingly dedicated and giving, always keeping us and our community a priority. We will miss him dearly and will think of him every year when we say his name, awarding this honor in his memory,” said Nadine Pottinga, CEO or United Way of Northern Shenandoah Valley. 

Todd Thompson Volunteer of the Year for 2021:

Mark MerrillMark Merrill 

Mark has been an incredible force for community change. He’s been a steadfast advocate of community organizations and his leadership has advanced the work of Valley Health System into all aspects of the community. Mark has been of invaluable support to United Way of Northern Shenandoah Valley, one of many United Ways in the Valley Health System footprint. 

During his tenure, Mark has been the lead advocate for the United Way Annual Campaign. Valley Health System has been able to raise over $1.3 million dollars just for our United Way alone in the time he has been in leadership. These dollars go to support a vast array of community services, all of which address social determinants of health. Mark not only believes that a healthy community depends on the collaborative effort of the hospitals, businesses and community organizations, but he pushes for it at every opportunity he can. 

Despite the demands of his leadership role at Valley Health, Mark made time to serve in a leadership capacity with United Way NSV. Mark served as a United Way NSV Board member from 2010-2016, the United Way Campaign Top 20 Chair in 2011 and 2015, United Way Campaign Pacesetter Chair from 2012-2014, Chaired the United Way Campaign in 2016, and in 2018 and 2019 Mark and his wife Teri served as our Leadership giving Chairs. As you can see by this long list of leadership positions, Mark didn’t just help Valley Health System raise resources for community programs, he inspired a whole community to do so. During his time in leadership with the United Way campaign, he has helped raise over $10 million dollars for local community organizations. 

When asked about his distinguished career and service to the community Mark says that is proudest accomplishments are advancing Medicaid Expansion, Valley Health's and Teri and my support to advance CTE among high schools, Valley Health's efforts to address the substance/opioid pandemic, and his volunteer service with VHHA, United Way, Our Health, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Public Health, among many other others.  In retirement, Mark and Teri continue to support the work of United Way NSV and its Valley Assistance Network.

Past recipients include:

2020   Scott C. Harvard
2019   Darcus Breneman
2018   Dr. Cheryl Thompson-Stacy
2017   Dr. David Sovine
2016   Dick & Darlene Kent
2015   Dennis Kellison
2014   Kurt Beyreis                
2013   Diane & Terry Sinclair               
2012   Terry Tierney                 
2011   Judy Paige-Grim
2010   John Hudson
2009   Todd Thompson
2008   Byron Brill
2007   Harry Smith
2006   Wendell Dick
2005   Kim Stutzman
2004   Tom Malcolm
2003   Mary & Bill Nordman
2002   Jim Stutzman, Jr.
2001   Betty Barr
2000   Bruce Downing, Esq
1999   Bill Huntsberry
1998   Jack Fretwell
1997   Bill Buckner
1996   Barry Lee Bowser
1995   Brookie Phillips
1994   Don Louque
See the listing for Youth Volunteer of the Year here