Campaign Awards

Each year at our Annual Meeting we give out three awards to individuals whom have been exemplary volunteers for our annual campaign. Nominees are selected and voted on by the Campaign Cabinet and Board of Directors.

Employee Campaign Coordinator of the Year

The Employee Campaign Coordinator is the person within a company that runs all of the details of a campaign, from setting up campaign kick off’s to tracking pledge cards this person is the heart of the campaign. Without these people our campaigns would not be possible and the United Way NSV would not be able to do all the great work we do.

The United Way NSV Employee Campaign Coordinator of the Year Award recognizes an employee campaign coordinator (or team) who has shown an exemplary commitment to the United Way in the areas of GIVE. ADVOCATE. VOLUNTEER.

The Award Recognizes:

  • Commitment to Campaign Best Practices
  • United Way NSV participation beyond Campaign Activities
  • Significant and impactful Campaign results as a direct result of Coordinator

The 2021 Employee Campaign Coordinator of the Year is Sabrina Mullins of Navy Federal!

sabrinaSabrina has been volunteering with United Way for several years through our Day of Caring, various drives and helping us with our many of our event and volunteer needs. This year she took up a position as our Project Connect co-chair for 2021, and we can’t wait to see her impact! Sabrina has been our contact regarding the United Way fundraising at Navy Federal for several years. In what is again a difficult year, she did a great job executing their campaign with some very successful events including a virtual 5K that raised more than $10,000 for United Way. While some companies saw decreased giving this year, Navy Federal ultimately raised more in employee pledges and special events, leading them to surpass their total fundraising from the previous years, raising more than $15,000 than in 2020! Thank you to Sabrina and congratulations to her! 


Campaign Volunteer of the Year

This award recognizes those who work so closely with us on the annual campaign, these individuals work lots of hours, make lots of phone calls and are really dedicated to the success of the campaign. The United Way NSV Campaign Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes a Campaign Volunteer who has made a significant impact on the results of the Campaign.

The Award Recognizes:

  • A commitment to achieving fundraising success through the campaign.
  • Creative approaches to reaching new donors.
  • An exemplary effort to reaching financial success.

The 2021 Employee Campaign Coordinator of the Year is Yolanda Barbier Gibson of Shenandoah University!

yolandaYolanda is new to our area and our United Way, but has been an integral part of our volunteer team. In her time volunteering with United Way, he has launched our Women United Group, facilitated our Day of Caring event kick off at Shenandoah University, kicked off the fundraising campaign for hundreds at SU and recently launched a drive for air mattresses, that is still currently underway, that is well on its way to reaching its goal. Thank you to Yolanda for her incredible hard work in 2021! We can’t wait to see your impact in 2022!



Rookie of the Year

This award recognizes those who might be new to volunteer leadership with United Way NSV and have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to United Way. The United Way NSV Rookie of the Year Award is given to a new volunteer who has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to United Way NSV.

The Award Recognizes:

  • A volunteer who has served United Way NSV in some capacity within 2 years of nomination.
  • Provided a strong leadership role and made a significant in the areas of GIVE, ADVOCATE or VOLUNTEER.
  • Demonstrates United Way values in a personal and professional capacity.

The 2021 Employee Campaign Coordinator of the Year is Ari Sommer of Harrison and Johnston, PLC!

ariAri was a new recruit this year, he joined the Campaign Cabinet and immediately jumped in by getting campaigns started with the professionals division. Ari has been consistently engaged since joining the cabinet and is always willing to help out when needed. He has done a great job assisting with outreach and bringing in new gifts, helping to lead our Professionals Division through a trying year.

Past Recipients

Employee Campaign Coordinator of the Year Award

2020 — Jessica Neff

2019 — Rochelle Lloyd

2018 — Shenandoah Valley Orthodontics

2017 — Trex Company UW Committee

2016 — Linda Kerns

2015 — Elizabeth Campbell

Campaign Volunteer of the Year Award

2020 — Blake Curtis

2019 — Chris Holthaus

2018 — Millie Thompson

2017 — Denise Snapp

2016 — Lee Leonard

2015 — Lori Fountain Bales

Rookie of the Year Award

2020 — Blake Watts

2019 — Matthew Laird

2018 — Beth Falu

2017 — Millie Thompson

2016 — Dr. Damon DeArment

2015 — Donna Berger