Skip to main content

Volunteer of the Year Award

United Way Volunteer of the Year Award

United Way Volunteer of the Year Award is presented annually to an outstanding local volunteer who’s individual commitment to helping others exemplifies the tradition and spirit of caring.  

The award recognizes:

  • Distinguished volunteer service to the community.
  • United Way participation and service.
  • Sustained and prolonged service to helping others.

The United Way of Northern Shenandoah Valley is proud to recognize for the year 2019:

Volunteer of the Year
Darcus Breneman

Darcus Breneman is a Vice-President at First Bank. Prior to coming to First Bank, she was a Client Advisor and TWG Insurance- Winchester Wealth Management, and was a Private Advisor ,Regional Director and Senior Vice President at BB&T. A long time resident of Frederick County, Darcus attended Stephens City Elementary, Bass-Hoover Elementary, R E Aylor Middle School and graduated from James Wood High School.  She then attended Lord Fairfax Community College and graduated from James Madison University.  Darcus has served the community through many leadership roles. A member of Rotary since 1992, she also serves/or served on the BRAR Awards committee, the non-profit Alliance for the Community Foundation, the Valley Business Women since 2012 (where she served as Chairperson 2017-18), the Worlds of Work (WOW) Expo committee, and the Chamber of Commerce Board.  Darcus has devoted hundreds of hours on behalf of the United Way, serving as Day of Caring Chairperson, board member, and Chairman of the Board, and VAN committee member.  Darcus and her husband, Aaron reside in Frederick County with their son, Seth who is a Dean’s list sophomore at Virginia Tech.


Past recipients include:

2019   Darcus Breneman
2018   Dr. Cheryl Thompson-Stacy
2017   Dr. David Sovine
2016   Dick & Darlene Kent
2015   Dennis Kellison
2014   Kurt Beyreis                
2013   Diane & Terry Sinclair               
2012   Terry Tierney                 
2011   Judy Paige-Grim
2010   John Hudson
2009   Todd Thompson
2008   Byron Brill
2007   Harry Smith
2006   Wendell Dick
2005   Kim Stutzman
2004   Tom Malcolm
2003   Mary & Bill Nordman
2002   Jim Stutzman, Jr.
2001   Betty Barr
2000   Bruce Downing, Esq
1999   Bill Huntsberry
1998   Jack Fretwell
1997   Bill Buckner
1996   Barry Lee Bowser
1995   Brookie Phillips
1994   Don Louque
See the listing for Youth Volunteer of the Year here